PaperCity DesignAwards Winners Revealed

The Houston Design Center Celebrates the victors

Seth Vaughan. Photography Daniel Ortiz.  |  Photos by Daniel Ortiz
October 15, 2013
Event Date:
May 22, 2013

After months of anticipation, the night arrived: The winners of the PaperCity DesignAwards at The Houston Design Center were declared. Scores of design denizens gathered, first for cocktails at Connie Lefevre’s Design House, where wines from Napa Wine Club and spirits from Edrington Group and Dripping Springs Vodka flowed, doing a great deal to ease the nerves of those who had entered projects. Houston Design Center owners Sheri and Grant Roane were charming hosts, welcoming guests. Next, the group moved en masse upstairs to Tom Alkusari’s Alkusari showroom for the awards ceremony. Libations continued to pour before two adept crowd controllers, PC editor in chief Holly Moore and Alton LaDay, took to the stage to welcome mistress of ceremonies Ronda Rice Carman, founder of the blog All the Best and author of a new book, Designer’s at Home: Personal Reflections on Stylish Living.
More than 129 entries were narrowed down by our panel of rock-star judges: LA designers Mary McDonald and Martyn Lawrence Bullard and Georgia-based architects Bobby McAlpine and Greg Tankersley of McAlpine Tankersley Architecture. Ties were broken by San Francisco-based design author Diane Dorrans Saeks. Drumroll, please: Courtney Hill Fertitta took home top honors in two Interior Design/Individual Room categories, Kitchen and Bath; Sally Wheat triumphed in the Interior Design/Individual Room Other category; Marie Flanigan won for Residential Interior Design (Townhouse, Loft, High-Rise, Apartment); Katie Stassi-Scott nabbed first place for Residential Interior Design, Freestanding Home; Karen Lantz prevailed in the Residential Interior Architecture, Freestanding Home category; Barry Moore, Paul Horneyer, and Lenny Camargo were victorious for Historical Restoration Residential or Commercial; Connie Lefevre won for Garden Design Residential; Nina Magon was awarded top prize in Commercial Project Interior Design; and Chung and Chuong Nguyen were hailed for Commercial Project Interior Architecture. To see images of the winning entries, turn to pages 6 through 11 of this special section.
To commemorate their victory, each winner received an engraved Christofle tray; on hand to present were Christofle executive vice president Ginny Gerard and Houston boutique manager Vicki Rusca. Applauding the inspired: Found’s Aaron Rambo and Ruth Moore Davis, she with daughter Emmy; countess of carpets Carol Piper; Kyle Rottet; Lynn Jones; Beryl Basham; Gwen Kelly; Elena Htun; Momentum Audi’s Jared Lang; Bill Peck; Alexandra Knight; Cedar Baldridge; Jonathon Glus; Julie Dodson; Sarah Eilers; Sandra Lucas; and Natalie Wall.
To enter the Spring 2014 PaperCity DesignAwards, go to